Vision & Goals

What moves and motivates us is the vision of a just, peaceful and diverse world, a future worth living for our children and grandchildren, in a world without hunger, poverty, violence and war.

At SWISSAID, we believe that everyone is equally entitled to prosperity and to contribute to and participate in the beauty of our world. Participation means codetermination, cooperative creation and shared responsibility in regards to other people, society and the environment. Sustainable development that respects human dignity is possible only if women and men are on equal terms. Cultural diversity and respect for other beliefs and ways of doing things are an important ingredient for quality of life.
Inequality, poverty and suffering are not determined by fate. We believe that it is possible for us, as human beings, to use our abilities to bring the vision of a more peaceful and just world into being. The only things missing are insight and the willingness to make the necessary changes.

SWISSAID has three main goals:

  • Aid that opens people's eyes: SWISSAID helps dismantle stereotypes of "the enemy" and dispel fear and prejudice about people from other countries and cultures. We provide information about the problems, aspirations and visions of people in the southern hemisphere. We focus particularly on their efforts to improve their life situation, and celebrate their strengths and abilities and the richness of their cultures. We help people understand why the gap between rich and poor is continuing to get wider, and that we have something to do with that - and can do something about it. We point the way forward, indicate solutions, provide encouragement and prevent resignation setting in.
     
  • Aid that promotes justice: SWISSAID contributes to making Switzerland an open country that expresses solidarity. It is time for Switzerland, one of the world's richest countries, to recognise its responsibility to the rest of the world. Only with radical changes to the rules that currently govern economics, trade and financial relationships between countries will all have equal chances of success. SWISSAID exerts pressure and supports concrete alternatives, e.g. the Fair Trade movement. If our lifestyle is exported, it will destroy the planet. We must learn to handle natural resources intelligently and carefully, so that everyone else can use them too.
     
  • Aid that fosters independence: SWISSAID supports as many people as possible, in a targeted, effective way, to be in charge of their own lives, trust their abilities and confidently stand up for their rights. We concentrate on countries that are often overlooked. We enable our partners to participate in the social and economic development of their countries skilfully and responsibly. For us, equal participation by women is both a goal and one of the most important prerequisites for sustainable, just development. Our support is linked to the preservation and sustainable use of natural essentials such as water, forests, soil and species diversity. We provide targeted support to partners working for human rights, conflict prevention and peaceful solutions to conflict.

Vision + Ziele

Was uns bewegt und motiviert, ist die Vision einer gerechten, friedlichen und vielfältigen Welt, einer lebenswerten Zukunft für unsere Kinder und Enkel in einer Welt ohne Hunger, Armut, Gewalt und Krieg.

Für SWISSAID ist klar: Alle Menschen haben das gleiche Recht, am Wohlstand und an der Schönheit unserer Welt mitzuwirken und teilzuhaben. Teilhabe bedeutet auch Mitbestimmung, Mitgestaltung und Mitverantwortung gegenüber anderen Menschen, der Gesellschaft und der Umwelt. Eine zukunftsfähige und menschenwürdige Entwicklung ist nur möglich, wenn Frauen und Männer gleichgestellt sind. Kulturelle Vielfalt und Respekt gegenüber anderen Werten und Vorstellungen sind ein wichtiger Teil der Lebensqualität.

Ungerechtigkeiten, Armut und Elend sind nicht Schicksal. Wir glauben daran, dass wir Menschen die Möglichkeiten und die Fähigkeiten haben, die Vision einer friedlicheren und gerechteren Welt umzusetzen. Was fehlt, sind die Einsicht und der Wille für notwendige Veränderungen.

SWISSAID verfolgt drei inhaltliche Ziele:

  • Hilfe, die Augen öffnet: SWISSAID hilft mit, Feindbilder, Ängste und Vorurteile gegenüber Menschen aus anderen Ländern und Kulturen abzubauen. Wir informieren über Probleme, Hoffnungen und Visionen der Menschen im Süden. Insbesondere berichten wir aber auch über ihre Anstrengungen zur Veränderung ihrer Lebenssituation, über ihre Stärken, ihre Fähigkeiten und ihren kulturellen Reichtum. Wir tragen dazu bei, dass die Leute verstehen, warum der Graben zwischen Armen und Reichen immer grösser wird, dass auch wir etwas damit zu tun haben und etwas dagegen tun können. Wir zeigen Perspektiven und Lösungen, machen Mut und leisten einen Beitrag gegen Resignation.
     
  • Hilfe, die Gerechtigkeit fordert: SWISSAID leistet einen Beitrag für eine offene und solidarische Schweiz. Als eines der reichsten Länder muss die Schweiz ihre Verantwortung gegenüber dem Rest der Welt endlich wahrnehmen. Eine faire Chance für alle verlangt nach radikalen Veränderungen der geltenden Regeln in den Wirtschafts-, Handels- und Finanzbeziehungen. SWISSAID macht Druck und unterstützt konkrete Alternativen, z.B. im Fairen Handel. Unser Lebensstil ist nicht globalisierungsfähig. Wir müssen lernen, so intelligent und sparsam mit den natürlichen Ressourcen umzugehen, damit alle anderen diese in gleicher Weise für sich nutzen können.
     
  • Hilfe, die weiterhilft: SWISSAID unterstützt gezielt und wirkungsvoll möglichst viele Menschen dabei, ihr Leben aus eigener Kraft zu gestalten, auf ihre Fähigkeiten zu vertrauen und selbstbewusst für ihre Rechte einzustehen. Wir konzentrieren uns bei unserer Arbeit auf wenige ausgewählte Länder. Wir unterstützen unsere PartnerInnen darin, sich kompetent und verantwortungsbewusst an der gesellschaftlichen und wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung ihres Landes zu beteiligen. Die gleichberechtigte Teilnahme und Teilhabe der Frauen ist für uns sowohl ein Ziel als auch eine der wichtigsten Voraussetzungen für eine tragfähige und gerechte Entwicklung.
    Unsere Unterstützung ist an die Erhaltung und nachhaltige Nutzung der natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen wie Wasser, Wald, Boden oder Artenvielfalt gebunden. Wir unterstützen gezielt Partnerinnen und Partner, die sich für die Menschenrechte, die Prävention und die friedliche Lösung von Konflikten engagieren.