Sneha Giridhari campaigns against domestic violence

Sneha Giridhari is responsible for programmes against domestic violence in India’s Maharashtra and Chhattisgarh states. The 39-year-old’s fighting spirit has been further intensified by cases in her own personal environment.

What are your current duties?

Domestic violence is easy to cover up. To be able to recognise it, I make our partner organisations more aware and show them how they can best support the victims of violence. A wide network is vital and I carefully cultivate my contacts with lawyers, magistrates and the police. I also work setting up advice centres and support groups in the local communities. Self-help groups are very important: the victims of domestic violence are often so stigmatised and feel so threatened that they no longer see a way out and take their own life. They have no need to hide in self-help groups; everyone has experienced something similar. Here, the women experience light-hearted moments and can also laugh again.

Why do you work for SWISSAID?

SWISSAID not only distributes funding and is active on a charitable basis, but also works closely with people and takes their concerns and needs seriously. We see people’s strengths and promote them. In this case, we always bear in mind the legal framework. That’s convincing for me because this is the only way to really achieve change in the long term. And let’s not forget there is an excellent working environment and good teamwork. I’ve been employed at SWISSAID since September 2010 and I enjoy everything about it.

Which aspects of your work do you like the most? 

Our campaign against domestic violence is going well, we have strong partners who are willing to really get stuck in. That’s vital, as domestic violence is an enormous problem, even in my own personal environment. Cases in one’s own neighbourhood and amongst one’s own relatives give a real jolt. Being affected personally changes your attitude and leads to a more realistic view of the problem.

I make my family more sensitive about noticing domestic violence in society in general. I feel good about being able to commit to this through my work and, added to my contact with women, I also enjoy working with men and young people. Men’s groups involved in educational work in the villages and in supporting the victims have an important function as role models.

Where are the challenges?

It’s going to take a long time to change people’s attitudes: domestic violence is not a trivial offence, but a criminal act! There are no organisations that are familiar with the subject and partner organisations have to be introduced to it first. This is also a protracted process.

I’m also concerned that the government is not fulfilling its duty and offering support aid. For example, advice centres receive no government support. The politicians view domestic violence the same as ever – not as an infringement of human rights. And there’s no network aimed at campaigning against domestic violence. Legal recognition of this form of violence was an important step, although by no means the solution for everything.

How do you balance your professional and family life?

I live with my husband, our ten-year-old daughter and my parents-in-law in Pune. I also grew up here; my mother and aunt live close by. As I work and travel a lot, my family’s support is incredibly important.

I do sport to counterbalance the great work pressures – we live next to a wonderful park that is perfect for a bit of fitness training!

Le combat de Sneha Giridhari contre la violence familiale

Sneha Giridhari est responsable du programme de lutte contre la violence domestique dans les États du Maharashtra et du Chhattisgarh. Les cas qu’elle a rencontrés dans son entourage ont renforcé la détermination de cette femme de 39 ans.

Quelles sont tes missions actuelles?

La violence domestique est invisible. Pour la mettre en évidence, je sensibilise nos organisations partenaires et je leur montre comment elles peuvent aider les victimes. J’ai besoin d’un vaste réseau pour cela et je soigne mes relations avec les avocats, les juges et les policiers. En outre, je participe à l’édification de centres de conseil et de groupes de soutien dans les communes. Les groupes d’entraide sont très importants: les victimes de violence domestiques sont tellement stigmatisées et menacées, qu’elles ne voient plus d’issue à leur situation et s’ôtent la vie. Au sein des groupes d’entraide, elles n’ont pas besoin de se cacher, car chacune a traversé la même expérience. Elles y passent des moments paisibles et il leur arrive même de rire.

Pourquoi travailles-tu pour SWISSAID?

SWISSAID ne se contente pas de distribuer de l’argent, mais elle collabore étroitement avec les gens. Elle prend au sérieux leurs soucis et leurs besoins. Elle voit les points forts des personnes et les aide à les développer. En outre, nous pouvons nous appuyer sur de bonnes conditions cadres. Cette manière de faire est très convaincante, car ce n’est qu’ainsi que l’on obtient des changements durables.

A cela s’ajoute que l’environnement de travail et la collaboration au sein de l’équipe sont très bons. Je travaille pour SWISSAID depuis septembre 2010 et cela me plaît énormément.

Quels sont les aspects de ton travail que tu préfères?

Notre engagement contre la violence domestique marche bien. Nous avons des partenaires forts, qui sont prêts à s’engager entièrement. C’est important, car la violence domestique est un énorme problème, y compris dans mon environnement privé. Les cas que j’observe dans mon voisinage et ma famille me secouent particulièrement. Le fait d’être personnellement touchée change la perspective et se traduit par une vision plus réaliste du problème.

Je sensibilise ma famille à ce problème de société afin qu’elle le prenne au sérieux. Cela me fait du bien de pouvoir m’engager professionnellement et cela me plaît de pouvoir, à côté de mon travail auprès des femmes, collaborer avec des hommes et des jeunes. Les groupes d’hommes, qui font circuler l’information dans les villages et qui y soutiennent les victimes, jouent un rôle important de modèle.

Quels sont les principaux défis que tu rencontres?

Changer les mentalités prend beaucoup de temps: la violence domestique n’est pas une peccadille, mais un délit! Il n’existe pas d’organisation qui soit familière avec cette question. Il faut commencer par sensibiliser les organisations partenaires. Un long processus, ça aussi.

Un autre des mes soucis, c’est que le gouvernement n’assume pas ses responsabilités et n’offre aucune aide. Par exemple, les centres de consultation ne reçoivent pas de soutien de l’État. Le politique ne considère pas la violence familiale comme une violation des droits de l’Homme et aucun réseau ne se constitue pour s’en occuper. La reconnaissance juridique de cette forme de violence est certes un grand pas en avant, mais de loin pas la solution à tout.

Comment fais-tu pour concilier ton travail et ta famille?

Je vis à Pune avec mon mari, notre fille de dix ans et mes beaux-parents. C’est là que j’ai grandi, ma mère et ma tante habitent tout près. Du fait que je travaille et voyage beaucoup, le soutien de ma famille est très précieux. Pour compenser cette énorme charge de travail, je fais du sport. Nous habitons près d’un beau parc, idéal pour un peu de fitness.