Sustainable agriculture must become a cornerstone of the “green economy”

Sustainable agriculture must become a cornerstone of the “green economy”

Zurich, 23 May 2012. The “green economy” will be the centre of attention when the global community comes together at the Rio+20 Earth Summit exactly four weeks from now. The Summit can only be successful if it establishes ecologically sound small-scale farming as the main basis for feeding the nine billion people expected to live on Earth by 2050. This is the overall conclusion from a panel discussion at ETH Zurich.

What shape should agriculture take within the “green economy”? To answer this question, Biovision, SWISSAID, and the Centre for Development and Environment (CDE) of the University of Bern have invited experts and scientists to a panel discussion at ETH Zurich. The Rio+20 Earth Summit in June offers the opportunity to bring about a fundamental change of course in the global agricultural and food system. “The main focus in Rio must be on implementing sustainable farming methods and linking science and policy more closely,” demanded Hans Rudolf Herren, President of the Biovision foundation and World Food Prize laureate. “This is the only way for the economy to become truly green as well as socially sustainable.”

Developments in recent years have shown that the industrial modernisation of global agriculture leads to a dead end. “This makes the future development of small-scale farming a key component in global efforts to achieve sustainability – and, consequently, in the related concept of a ‘green economy’,” said Professor Urs Wiesmann of CDE. Caroline Morel, Director of SWISSAID, called attention to the risks of the green economy: “Agriculture must not by any means be reduced to a feedstock supplier for an ostensibly green economy. Even now, forests are being cleared, smallholder families are being driven away, and food production is being given up for the sake of biofuels.” A new study co-authored by CDE shows that around half of large-scale land acquisitions worldwide are driven by the biofuel boom.

Already in 2008, a group of 400 agricultural scientists and experts published the International Assessment of Agricultural Knowledge, Science and Technology for Development (IAASTD), which calls for a fundamental change of course in agricultural policy and a reorientation of agricultural research. The report advocates a move away from short-term profit maximisation towards ecologically sound farming that strives not for the highest possible, but for the highest sustainable yields, conserves soil and water, and enables smallholders in the global South to find a way out of poverty. These demands are currently under discussion in the preliminary negotiations for Rio+20: Biovision, CDE, and SWISSAID call upon the Swiss delegation to promote concrete measures towards a paradigm shift in agriculture. Social justice and the human right to food must be given the same importance as economic and ecological goals.

twitter: #ethrio20;

Download images in the box to the right

More information:

L’agriculture durable doit devenir le principe de base de l’ «économie verte»

L’agriculture durable doit devenir le principe de base de l’ «économie verte»

Zurich, le 23 mai 2012. L’ «économie verte» sera au cœur des discussions menées par la communauté internationale lors du prochain sommet de la Terre de Rio+20 qui aura lieu d’ici un mois. Ce Sommet ne pourra être considéré comme un succès que s’il reconnaît le rôle primordial joué par l’agriculture écologique et familiale pour nourrir les neuf milliards d’être humains qui peupleront la planète d’ici 2050. C’est la conclusion à laquelle est parvenue la conférence de haut niveau qui s’est déroulée aujourd’hui à l’Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Zurich (EPFZ).

A quoi doit ressembler l’agriculture dans l’ «économie verte» ? Afin de faire le tour de cette question, Biovision, SWISSAID et le Centre for Development and Environment de l’Université de Berne (CDE) ont invité experts et scientifiques à un colloque organisé à l’EPF de Zurich. Le sommet de la Terre Rio+20 qui aura lieu au mois de juin offre la possibilité de provoquer un changement de cap essentiel dans le système alimentaire et agricole mondial. « Le passage à des méthodes agricoles durables et des connexions plus fortes entre les sciences et la politique doivent être au centre des discussions à Rio », plaide Hans Rudolf Herren, président de la Fondation Biovision et lauréat du Prix Mondial de l’alimentation. «C’est uniquement de cette manière que l’économie peut réellement devenir verte, mais également socialement durable.»

Il est devenu clair ces dernières années que l’agriculture industrielle, pratiquée aujourd’hui à large échelle, mène à une impasse. «Le développement de l’agriculture familiale doit être au cœur du développement durable et à la base de l’ «économie verte», a estimé le professeur Urs Wiesmann du CDE. Caroline Morel, directrice de SWISSAID, met, elle, l’accent sur les risques engendrés par l’économie verte : «L’agriculture ne doit pas se retrouver entre les mains de sociétés actives dans le secteur des matières premières, sous le couvert d’une soi-disant économie verte. Actuellement, des forêts sont déboisées, des familles de petits paysans sont expulsées de leurs terres et les surfaces destinées à la production d’aliments diminuent, tout cela  au profit de la production d’agrocarburants.» Une nouvelle étude, co-écrite par le CDE, démontre qu’environ la moitié de l’accaparement des terres est à imputer au boom des agrocarburants.

En 2008 déjà, une commission composée de 400 scientifiques et experts agricoles avait publié le rapport «Agriculture at a crossroads» dans lequel un changement de cap dans la politique agricole et une nouvelle orientation de la recherche agricole étaient exigés: s’éloigner d’une maximisation des rendements à court terme pour se diriger vers une agriculture écologique qui n’aspire pas aux plus hauts rendements, mais à des rendements aussi durables que possible. Ainsi, l’agriculture écologique permettrait d’épargner et de ménager les sols et les réserves d’eau et de permettre aux petits producteurs des pays dits du Sud d’échapper à la misère. Ces revendications seront discutées dans les négociations préalables au sommet Rio+20. Biovision, le CDE et SWISSAID invitent la délégation suisse à s’engager pour des mesures concrètes en faveur d’un changement de paradigme dans l’agriculture. La justice sociale et le droit à l’alimentation doivent avoir autant d’importance que les buts économiques et écologiques.

twitter: #ethrio20

Photos à télécharger librement dans l'infobox à droite.

Pour plus d’informations: