“The forest is our grandfather and grandmother.”

The Baiga people need the forest like they need air and water. But they have had a long fight to be allowed to use their village’s local forest at all. SWISSAID helped them. Now they have begun the reforestation process.

“We couldn’t survive for a single day without the forest”, says Kanhaiya Lal, aged 42, and father of four daughters. And he proudly explains: “The forest gives us berries, mushrooms, mixed leaves and vegetables to eat, timber for building houses, and medicinal plants when we are sick.” He and his family belong to the Baiga people who traditionally live off the forest. “I feel at home in the forest; it gives us everything that we need.”

For nine years, since his village was granted the right to use it with the support of SWISSAID, together with his wife and a further 95 families, he has been ‘managing’ the forest of Sinjahar, his village in central India. Now, there are 25 different forest products that the families either consume themselves or sell on the local market to earn a little cash.

Farewell to monoculture

The village families decide in the forest committee how to use the forest, and how to ensure reforestation and fire protection. This isn’t easy because they must repeatedly defend themselves against state interventions – regardless of their licensed usage rights. For decades, the state managed the forest as it pleased. The Baiga must stand together if they want to assert their rights against the authorities. “But the forest belongs to us and we’re fighting back!”, says Kanhaiya Lal.

Decades of mismanagement of monocultures by the Indian forestry authority have caused considerable damage. “The forest has very little diversity”, the Baiga say knowingly. The state tree surgeons also cut back the small trees in the undergrowth, as well as climbing plants, from the forest. “But this is the habitat for a vast number of animals and edible plants.” The Baiga have therefore started to reforest trees, rare varieties and climbing plants.

This will take time. But the Baiga people have plenty of time on their hands. They have a saying that: “For us, the forest is our grandfather and grandmother.”

«Der Wald ist Grossvater und Grossmutter in einem»

Sie brauchen den Wald wie Luft und Wasser: Das Volk der Baiga. Wie viele andere Adivasi, wie die Ureinwohner Indiens genannt werden, mussten sie aber lange dafür kämpfen, dass sie ihren eigenen Dorfwald überhaupt nutzen dürfen. SWISSAID hat ihnen dabei geholfen. Jetzt forsten sie auf.

«Wir könnten keinen einzigen Tag ohne Wald überleben», sagt Kanhaiya Lal, 42, und Vater von vier Töchtern. Und er zählt stolz auf: «Der Wald schenkt uns Beeren, Pilze, Blätter, Gemüse zum Essen, Holz für den Hausbau und wenn wir krank sind, Medizinalpflanzen.» Er und seine Familie zählen zum Volk der Baiga, die traditionell vom Wald leben. «Im Wald fühle ich mich zuhause, er gibt uns alles, was wir brauchen.»

«Der Wald gehört uns uns!»

Seit neun Jahren, seit sein Dorf mithilfe von SWISSAID die Nutzungsrechte zugesprochen bekam, «bewirtschaften» er, seine Frau und weitere 95 Familien den Wald von Sinjahar, seinem Dorf in Zentralindien. Mittlerweilen sind es 25 verschiedene Waldprodukte, die die Familien selbst konsumieren oder auf dem lokalen Markt verkaufen und so ein wenig Bargeld erwirtschaften.

Im Waldkomitee bestimmen die Familien des Dorfes selbst, wie sie den Wald nutzen, aufforsten und vor Feuer schützen. Das ist nicht einfach, denn immer wieder müssen sie sich gegen staatliche Übergriffe wehren – verbriefte Nutzungsrechte hin oder her. Jahrzehntelang verwaltete der Staat den Wald nach Gutdünken. Da müssen die Baiga zusammenstehen, wenn sie ihre Rechte gegen die Behörden durchsetzen wollen. «Doch der Wald gehört uns und wir wehren uns!», sagt Kanhaiya Lal.

Monokultur ade

Die Jahrzehntelange monokulturellen Misswirtschaft durch die indische Forstbehörde hat erheblichen Schaden angerichtet. «Die Vielfalt im Wald ist gering», wissen die Baiga. Die staatlichen Holzfäller schlugen jeweils auch die kleinen Bäume im Unterholz und die Kletterpflanzen aus dem Wald. «Doch dort leben sehr viele Tiere und essbare Pflanzen.» Die Baiga haben sich daher daran gemacht, Bäume, seltene Sorten und Schlingpflanzen wieder aufzuforsten.

Das wird seine Zeit brauchen. Doch der Zeithorizont der Baigas ist lang. Sie sagen: «Für uns ist der Wald Grossvater und Grossmutter in einem.»